National Sports Day 2020: Watch Virtual National Sports and Adventure Awards 2020

2 years ago

Hockey Legend Major Dhyanchand, also known as ‘Hockey Wizard’ was born on 29 August 1905 and in his memory, August 29 is celebrated as National Sports Day. Major Dhyanchand is one of the greatest players in sports history who has earned three Olympic gold medals in hockey in 1928, 1932, and 1936. He is known for his ball control skills, unique abilities for hockey and the magic he used to create with his hockey stick was all incredible. Major Dhyanchand has been awarded the Padma Bhushan for his contribution to hockey, the third-largest civilian award in the country.

The purpose behind celebrating the National sports day is making people aware of sports, and praise the work of various sportspersons and create awareness among youth about sports.

Every year various sportsperson are awarded on National Sports Day in an event but this year due to pandemic conditions, this event is going to held virtual and confer by honorable President. The awardees will attend the ceremony from their respective places across the country.

The various Sports awards given are:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Arjuna Award

Dronacharya Award

Dhyan Chand Award 

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

In addition to these Sports Awards, the spirit of adventure among the people of the country is recognized by bestowing the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award.

Khel Ratna Award nominees: Neeraj Chopra (Javelin Throw), Vikas Krishan (Boxing), Amit Panghal (Boxing),  Rohit Sharma (Cricket), Manika Batra (Table Tennis),  Rani Rampal (Hockey), Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling), Kidambi Srikanth (Badminton), Hima Das (Athletics).

Arjuna Award nominees: Dutee Chand (Athletics), Arpinder Singh (Athletics), Manjit Singh (Athletics), Manish Kaushik (Boxing), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), Simranjit Kaur (Boxing),  PU Chitra (Athletics), Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (Badminton), Chirag Shetty (Badminton), Sameer Verma (Badminton), Shikhar Dhawan (Cricket), Ishant Sharma (Cricket), Deepti Sharma (Cricket), Rashid Khan (Golf), Aditi Ashok (Golf), Diksha Dagar (Golf), Abhishek Verma (Shooting), Manu Bhaker (Shooting), Elavenil Valarivan (Shooting), Suthirtha Mukherjee (Table Tennis), Madhurika Patkar (Table Tennis), Manav Thakkar (Table Tennis), Mirabai Chanu (Weightlifting), Vandana Kataria (Hockey), Sakshi Malik (Wrestling), Monika (Hockey), Harmanpret Singh (Hockey), Saurabh Chaudhary (Shooting), Ragala Venkat Rahul (Weightlifting), Poonam Yadav (Weightlifting), Deepak Punia (WrestlingSandeep Tomar (Wrestling), Naveen (Wrestling), ), Rahul Aware (Wrestling).

Seema Jain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.