New Zealand Announces Squad

3 years ago

Today, in early hours of the day, the New Zealand Cricket Board announced their 15 men squad for the upcoming 50-over World Cup which will be held in England from May 30, 2019. The team features a set of established and experienced players with a uncapped wicket-keeper batsman Tom Blundell being added to the squad.

The 15 men squad features Trent Boult & Tim Southee who will be the lead pacers for the side wit likes of Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson as backup. Also, Ish Sodhi has been selected ahead of Todd Astle, who has shown better performance throughout. While the team will be captained by Kane Williamson & experienced Ross Taylor is likely to slot at no. 4 with likes of Colin Munro & Martin Guptill at top.

Blundell is a wicket-keeper who hails from Wellington & made his List A debut back in year 2013 against Otago (domestic team in New Zealand) & in total has notched up 763 runs at an impressive average of 23.81 in the 50-over format. He has also effected 41 dismissals behind the stumps in his List A career.

Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

(Source: twitter)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *