Republic Day Of India

75th Republic Day of India: ‘Viksit Bharat’ and ‘Bharat – Loktantra ki Matruka’ to be the main themes

4 months ago

Republic Day is an Important National Festival of India. It is celebrated with joy every year. This year on 26 January 2024 India is celebrating its 75th Republic Day. The celebration of Republic Day includes an annual parade at Rajpath, currently known as Kartavya Path. The National Flag is hoisted at India Gate and various parts of India on this day. Republic Day honours the spirit of India’s independence.

75th Republic Day of India Theme

The 75th Republic Day Parade at Kartavya Path on January 26, 2024, will be women-centric with the themes of ‘Viksit Bharat’ and ‘Bharat – Loktantra ki Matruka’. Women marching contingents will form the major chunk of the parade, with most of the tableaux of States/Union Territories (UTs) and Central Ministries/Organisations showcasing the country’s rich cultural diversity, unity and progress. The themes have been selected in line with Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi’s views that ‘India is truly a mother of democracy’.

For the first time, the parade will be heralded by 100 women artists playing Indian musical instruments. The parade would commence with the music of Sankh, Naadswaram, Nagada, etc. to be played by women artists.

The parade will also witness an all-women Tri-Service contingent marching down Kartavya Path for the first time. The CAPF contingents will also consist of women personnel. 

75th Republic Day of India Chief Guest

French President Mr Emmanuel Macron will be the Chief Guest at this year’s Republic Day Parade. A 95-member marching contingent and a 33-member band contingent from France will also take part in the parade. Along with the aircraft of the Indian Air Force, one Multi Role Tanker Transport (MRTT) aircraft and two Rafale aircraft of the French Air Force will participate in the Fly-past.

The History of The Indian Republic Day

On January 26, 1950, The constitution of India was formally adopted and that event is celebrated as Republic Day. On 15 August 1947, India got freedom from the British Government but the Indian Constitution came into effect on January 26, 1950. The day India got its constitution, that day is remarked as Republic Day. 

For drafting the constitution of India, The Constitution Assembly was assembled on 9 December 1946 and last met on 26 November 1949, which is also observed as Constitution Day. The Constituent Assembly of India was formed to design the Constitution for India.

Significance of Republic Day in India

After achieving Independence from British rule, The constitution drafting Committee Led by Dr. BR Ambedkar framed India’s constitution. 26th January was chosen as it was on that day in 1930 when the Declaration of Indian Independence was proclaimed by the Indian National Congress.

How is Republic Day celebrated in India? 

Republic Day is celebrated all over India with joy. The Honourable President of India hoists the National Flag of India (Tricolour) at the India Gate. The Parade takes place at Rajpath, New Delhi. The ceremonious parades take place at the Kartvya path, promoting India’s Diverse Culture and unity in diversity. 

The event also remembers the martyrs who have sacrificed their lives for the country. The Prime Minister honours the martyrs by putting a ringlet at Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate followed by a 21-gun Salute, Nation Flag Hoisting following the National Anthem. 

Paramvir Chakra, Ashok Chakra and Vir Chakra awards were presented to the brave soldiers. Even children and civilians who have shown courage in times of adversity are also honoured with bravery awards.

India’s Republic Day celebrations are held across the nation, but the biggest one is held at Delhi, (the nation’s capital)

Every year the Live Telecast of the Republic Day Parade is made accessible to millions of people. Celebrations on a smaller scale, are also held in all the State capitals, where the Governor of the state unfurls the Flag. Celebrations are also held at District headquarters, subdivisions, talukas, and panchayats.

Jugaadin News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *