politicans of Mysore

Top 10 Politicians of Mysore

8 months ago

Politics plays a crucial role in democracy. Politics involves a ruling party and an opposition party. A political party consists of politicians who come together to work for the country.  

Here are the top 10 politicians of Mysore who played a major role in the formation of the city.

Srikanta Datta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar

SrikantadattaNarasimharajaWadiyar was the 26th generation of the royal Wadiyar dynasty. He was born on 20th February 1953 and died on 10th December 2013 due to cardiac arrest. He was a known Fashion designer and encouraged the production and sale of silk sarees commonly called Royal Silk of Mysore.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | Srikanta Datta Narasimha Raja Wadiyar

Srikantadatta at one time was a Member of Parliament from Mysore, served as a member of the Indian National Congress. He participated in elections for MP(Member of Parliament) from Mysore constituency 6 times and won 4 times as an Indian National Congress Member of Parliament.

K Suryanarayana Adiga

K SuryanarayanaAdiga or KukkunjeSuryanarayanaAdiga was born on 5th November 1914 and died on 23rd April 1989 at the age of 74. He was an Indian lawyer and joined the Quit India Movement along with completing his law degree. Later he joined the Mysore legislative council (1966 to 1971). From the year 1958 to 1979 he was working in Karnataka bank as director and later he became the chairman of the bank. His political career was of 6 years as he joined in the year 1966 and retired in 1971 a year before the completion of his tenure.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | K Suryanarayana Adiga


MalavalliHuchcheGowdaAmarnath was born on 29th May 1952 and died on 24th November 2018 due to cardiac arrest. He was an actor and his screen name was Ambareesh, and later he stepped into politics by joining Indian National Congress in 1994 but after not getting a ticket for general elections in 1996, he left the INC and joined the Janata Dal. He won the general elections in 1996 from Mandya district. In 1999 he again joined the INC and was selected as Minister of Information and Broadcasting in the 14thLokSabha, later resigned from his position.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | Ambareesh

Tulsidas Dasappa

TulasidasDasappa was an Indian politician from Mysore. He was born on 16th July 1929 and died on 20th April 2005. His father was H.C Dasappa and mother was Yashodhara Dasappa who both were Indian independence activist and former ministers. Following his parent’s legacy even he joined the Indian National Congress and was elected for the LokSabha from the Mysore constituency in years 1967, 1971, and 1977. In the Charan Singh ministry, Mr.Dasappa was selected as union minister of state for coal and mines.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | Tulsidas Dasappa

Yashodhara Dasappa

Yashodhara Dassapa was a politician, independence activist, social reformer, Gandhian, and a minister. She was born on 28th May 1905 in Bangalore and died in 1980. Her father was K.H Ramaiah known for his social work. She joined the Indian National Congress and was chosen as a minister in the state of Karnataka. She took an active part in many movements such as Forest Satyagraha Movement in the year 1930 for which she went to prison along with 1200 other activists. Due to her selflessness and contribution to society, she was awarded Padma Bhushan the highest civilian honor by the Government of India in the year 1972.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | Yashodhara Dasappa

G.T Devegowda

GungaraluTammegowdaDevegowda is the minister of higher education in the cabinet. His political career started with congress in the year 1970 but later he resigned and joined Janta Dal. GungaraluTammegowdaDevegowda won the 2018 Karnataka legislative assembly election with a large margin against the chief minister Siddharamaiah. He was appointed as the minister of health and education of Karnataka. He is married to K Lalitha and his father was Tammegowda.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | G.T Devegowda

M. S. Gurupadaswamy

M. S. Gurupadaswamy was born on 7th August 1924 and died on 10th May 2011. He was an Indian politician who started his political career by joining all India student federation and was an Indian Independence Activist. After the independence of India M. S. Gurupadaswamy joined Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party. In the General elections of 1952, he was chosen from Mysore for LokSabha. He has been a part of Indira Gandhi’s Cabinet as Minister of Agriculture and Food, along with Community Development and Cooperation from 1967 to 1969. After the split of Congress in 1969 M. S. Gurupadaswamy was the first Minister to resign from the Cabinet of Indira Gandhi.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | M. S. Gurupadaswamy

J. Mohammed Imam

J. Mohammed Imam was an Indian politician who was born on 15th February 1897 and died on 3rd January 1983. He studied in Government law college Madras and got his bachelor of law degree.in 1930. He was selected as a member of the legislative assembly for Mysore state and resigned from his position in 1957. Maharaja of Mysore gave him the name ‘Mushirul-Mulk’. He initially joined the All India Muslim League, after Indian Independence, he joined Kisan Mazdoor Praja Party.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | J. Mohammed Imam

M Rajasekara Murthy

M Rajasekara Murthy was an Indian politician and a member of the 8thLokSabha from the constituency of Mysore. He was born on 10th May 1922 and died on 5th December 2010. M Rajasekara Murthy has served at many important positions for the Karnataka Government like Finance Minister of Karnataka from 1989 to 1990, later Revenue Minister of Karnataka from 1992 to 1994. He has also been a cabinet minister under former prime minister P. V Narasimha Rao’s cabinet. Murthy has also been a member of parliament from the year 2006 till his death in 2010.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | M Rajasekara Murthy

 M.N Jois

M. N. Jois was an Indian Freedom Fighter known as Lion of Mysore. He was born in 1905 and he died on 28th March 2002 at the age of 98. He took part in many movements against the British government. His father wasShri. NarayanaJoiswas a teacher at that time in MariMallappa’s High School which was located in Mysore. The street where M. N Jois lived is named after him as M. N Jois circle which is presently in Mysore.

Politicians of Mysore
Politicians of Mysore | M N Jois

Politicians can reform and change a country’s fate but in a democracy like India, these politicians are chosen by the people. Here was the list of the top 10 politicians who have contributed and worked hard for the city of Mysore and India.

Jugaadin News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *